It is the goal of the City Attorney’s Office to provide the highest quality legal representation and service possible to the City of Abilene and it is my honor to serve as the City’s chief legal advisor. As the City’s lawyers, the Office of the City Attorney engages in three major activities.

  1. We prosecute violations of the State’s laws and the City’s Code of Ordinances
  2. We provide legislative counsel by drafting and revising the City’s Code of Ordinances and advising the City Council and City Boards and Commissions
  3. We provide general legal counsel and representation to the City through drafting documents, advising City officials and managers on compliance with the law, representing the City in court, negotiating on the City’s behalf, and otherwise using legal procedures to support and defend the lawful decisions of City officials and agencies.

We are proud to represent the City of Abilene in this capacity and render our services with strict adherence to professional standards and conduct. It is our hope you find this web site helpful and informative. Please feel free to contact us if we can be of any assistance.

Legal Links

Staff

Attorneys

Stanley Smith
City Attorney
stanley.smith@abilenetx.com
(325) 676-6256

Kelley Messer
First Assistant City Attorney
kelley.messer@abilenetx.com
(325) 676-6213

Chace Craig
Assistant City Attorney
chace.craig@abilenetx.com
(325) 676-6258

Steven Levesque
Assistant City Attorney
steven.levesque@abilenetx.com
(325) 676-6255

Paralegals

Rita Monterrosa
Litigation and Open Records Paralegal
rita.monterrosa@abilenetx.com

Sheletra Hayes
Municipal Court Paralegal
sheletra.hayes@abilenetx.com

Montana Anderson
Legal Assistant
montana.anderson@abilenetx.com 

StanleySmithSmall

 

Stanley Smith

Interim City Attorney

(325) 676-6256
stanley.smith@abilenetx.com